Friday Thoughts

It’s been a while since I have written anything so I decided to make a concentrated effort to remedy that today.  I hope that everyone is doing well on this peaceful Friday morning.

We are soon approaching Mother’s Day and many people update profile pictures and social media sites with displays of affection with their mothers and their children.  It is such a heartwarming gesture.  I myself changed my profile and cover photo.  But as I sit here and think about it, why do we wait for a special occasion to show these displays of affection?  Why not just randomly throughout the year do we not just change our profile picture and say “Hey Mom I love you and just wanted you to know you are on my mind?”  So many times we take things for granted.  Parents, kids, friends, careers, even our own health.  We are counting on them to be there.  But in reality we should NEVER count on them to be there.  We never know when God will choose to call someone we love home.  We never know when someone texting will run into the back of our car and injure us.  Nothing in life is guaranteed.  When we go to sleep at night, for the most of us, we just do not think about whether or not we are going to wake up the next day.  We lay down at night with the thoughts of having to get up and go to work.

So on this beautiful day sometime between the sun rising and the sun setting take the time to ponder the things you may have taken for granted.  I am sure that you, just like I, will find that it sobering.  I say sobering because even without drinking even one sip of alcohol…you will be AMAZED at just how many IMPORTANT things in our lives that we simply just take for granted.

I hope you all have a happy, safe and BLESSED weekend!

Leave a Reply

