I wonder Wednesday…

As I sit thinking about everything that has transpired over the past couple of weeks, I realize that like this bird I just keep sitting there.  I wonder what this bird is thinking.  Is it happy? Is it sad? Is it angry or just simply bored?  Maybe it’s a combination of all of them.

Most of you know from my last post that I just lost one of my dearest and closest friends due to an unexpected death.  This past weekend we were supposed to be camping at Big South Fork National Park.  The reservations were made one day, she passed away the next day.  Needless to say I cancelled the reservations because I could not bare the thought of continuing that trip without her. All I would have been able to think about is she should have been there with me.  Instead we made reservations to Bledsoe Creek Campground in Gallatin TN.  As I was walking on one of the hiking trails I saw this Great Blue Heron. I have seen them many times while out fishing with Tim.  They are rather territorial and when you get too close they will fly off squawking mad as ever because you invaded “their space”. This bird, however, on this day just sat there.   I threw several sticks into the water because I wanted this bird to stand up, squawk , or do something other than just sit there.  But it didn’t.  I had to settle for just getting a picture of it squatting there with its neck tucked in its shoulders, leaving me to wonder what on earth is this bird thinking?  It is without a care in the world and is completely unaffected by everything and anyone that is surrounding it.

I feel like the bird sometimes. My life right now is a roller coaster.  I really don’t know what to think or do.  Like the bird I just sit there.  It’s as though I am sitting there waiting for something to make sense.  I want to cry, I want to scream, I want to throw a tantrum! I just sit there!

I sit here with life throwing sticks at me and I wonder…

 

2 thoughts on “I wonder Wednesday…

  1. Perhaps the bird felt numb and depressed and reflected your feelings somewhat? I can imagine things are tough for you and your friends family and friends. Your holiday must have been awfully sad 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

